Musings, Uncategorized

How Books Give Me Courage (and the Top 6 books I’ve read in 2016)

This post is quite personal and probably short <probably, maybe.. :D) . I want to share to you how and why I became a book blogger.

I rediscovered my love for reading after a difficult period in my life. I was on  a standstill  with my career and I felt the pressure of going into a path I’m not even sure if I’d survive. You see being a doctor doesn’t just stop after passing the board exams. Being a doctor also means working long hours more than anyone else even without sleep, learning is non-stop and you are always,always expected to care. Sometimes these realities become a burden and I’d never imagine that burden would become mine.

Thus,  this standstill made me realize that there is a gaping whole in my heart. I never really truly found my way to who I was before. Then I read Neil Gaiman’s Grave Yard Book and discovered the Booktube community on Youtube and it immediately rekindled my love for books. I began to read books that I’ve missed out for the past few years, books that gave me courage by allowing me to be lost in their world. These books gave me courage to overcome the difficulties I was in. And with the support of my family, friends and a new perspective, it lead me to understand the importance of believing that everything happens for a reason. It lead me to a life-changing decision that I never regretted making.

I am writing this to remind myself that reading books, reading stories that you like and love, should be done with a free mind and heart. Never being burdened by finishing the story immediately or pressuring yourself to write something about it. That is why I wanted to do book blogging because I would like to share to others my love for all sorts of stories.

More than anything else, a book is the courage that fuels ones soul.

So if you would ask which of the books I’ve read this year I loved, I could name  6:

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  2. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
  3. The Martian by Andy Weir
  4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  5. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
  6. The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

And so that’s a wrap. Here’s to  more book blogging in the following years to come 😀

Leave a Reply

