classics, love story, review

Hello you beautiful and awesome people! Indeed I am back. I finally have some time on my hands to do some blogging, thus a review is now in place. This time, I’ll be talking about a classic by our good old BFF: Jane Austen.

I can not fix on the hour, or the spot or the look of the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago, I was in the middle before I knew I had begun.

Title: Pride and Prejudice

Author: Jane Austen

Edition/Format: Trade Paperback, 368 pages

Year Published: 1813

Synopsis: Elizabeth Bennet, is the second of five daughters of the Bennet family. She is intelligent, stubbornly determined to prove herself to the world, and a loving sister and daughter. When two gentlemen move into their neighborhood, Mr. and Mrs. Bennett set out to arrange their daughters to meet them with the hope of settling  at least one of their daughters for marriage. Elizabeth meets the prickly, status conscious Mr. Darcy and they eventually develop prejudice for each other right off the bat. However, it is more than prejudice and pride that blossoms between as their relationship develops into a different kind of story.

#18thcentury #Awkwaaaard

What I think about it:

Well, I guess it’s safe to say that  this is legit chick-lit before chick-lits became even a thing. LOL. Anyway, I did loved reading Austen’s most celebrated work. I initially thought it would be daunting to read, with all of it’s 18th century prose and jargon. However, I was surprised that I just flew by it without getting a nosebleed. It also helped that I can identify with the main character, Elizabeth. I mean she’s the epitome of that single independent woman getting asked every damn time at every wedding or funeral she attends at, with the most singularly annoying question of all time: “Single ka pa? Kailan ka magaasawa?????” <You’re still single? When are you getting married>”. You see Elizabeth is unconventional, she likes being single, and really doesn’t give a shit about people say about her single hood and why everyone is marrying around at that time. I must say, that the 18th century mindset is not so really different from the mindset of society nowadays when it comes to single, intelligent, highly ambitious women, especially in our Filipino culture. Yeah, I know we’ve gone a long way, people are more liberal minded nowadays. But seriously, speaking from my experience, I still feel that we single ladies are still looked at as intimidating, socially awkward, career driven individuals that just don’t have the time to marry are put babies in our bellies. But in truth, we just don’t want to settle for anything less, because we believe that we should accept that love we think we deserve < ehem.. quoting Chbosky here..:)>

There is a lot of discussion of feminism in this book, but I sometimes found it being underplayed in the story. It is still eclipsed by the romantic brooding of the being that we call Mr. Darcy. I feel like Mr. Darcy is the mold that shaped the current trend of today’s male protagonist in many YA and Adult fiction stories. His brooding, imperfect assholery at first entices the female protagonist to investigate everything that makes him tick, only to find out that he is just a man who has a heart of gold. Mr. Darcy ‘s flaws makes him even more dreamy when the Lizzy falls for him. This makes the process of them falling in love with each other more believable.

One gripe I have about the book though is the supporting characters. They are written as a caricature of themselves with little depth and sincerity. In general, I still gave the book 5/5 stars in Goodreads. It is a beautifully crafted piece of literature that is timeless and enduring. But that’s probably the romantic in me speaking. Whatever it is, there is to0 much hate in this world, to be a cynic in love.

Happy Weekend! 😀

mr darcy.gif
Darcy, out!

Leave a Reply

