Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesdays: Best Suggested Books You Loved

Hello Everyone! How’s your day?

Mine was kind of productive. I decided to recycle my old beat-up drawers and turn it in to a book shelf. It’s because I have a few books coming this March and April so I have to make space for my new babies. (uhmm, I know it’s weird, I keep calling my books as my babies.LOL). I think I’m pretty much high from the spray paint I used. @_@

11259855_10207619251193461_2962672587730768098_o

Anyway, it is Wednesday today and it’s special. It’s because I’ve decided to join the TOP 5 Wednesday discussion started by the lovely Lainey over her youtube channel. You can check out the awesome topics at our Goodreads Group with the hashtag: #T5W.

So for today’s topic: Best Suggested Books that you Loved. These are the books that were recommended to you that you absolutely loved reading. Let’s do this! ^_^

Top 5: The Little Prince by  Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

This book is pretty special to me. When I was about 8 years old, my sister had this old copy of The Little Prince. I showed great interest in it because of the wonderful watercolor illustrations incorporated in the story, so my sister lent it to me. Of course I loved the story very much and although I could only vaguely remember what is it all about, the feelings and joy that the story remained with me till I got old. Odd enough, I have bought The Little Prince twice only to give it to other people. But I don’t have a physical copy of my own. I know, I still ask myself WHY??? LOL

Top 4: The Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan

It was in college that I encountered this series which was recommended to me by one of my guy friends. It think I was the only girl in class to choose to read the 600++ pages long of epic story-telling proportions. Throughout the years, I have slowly read the series, just because I buy the next one when I finish a previous one. It is very complex and sometimes daunting to read just because there are so many characters, the plot sometimes drags on in the middle and the world building is so expansive. But my love for world has never wavered. For now, I have already finished 9 out 14 books in the series. I decided to continue reading it in the near future, if I find more copies of it in stores because the earlier books in the series are hard to come by in our country. I estimate that I’d be 60 years old by the time I finish reading the series.LOL

Top 3: Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Again, another book that I don’t have a physical copy of. This book was recommended to me by my college bestfriend. She cautiously told me the I MIGHT like it. Might, because the book is quite depressing and dark. However, after reading it, I really loved it. It’s one of those stories that push you to think beyond your minuscule existence. I mean isn’t that the point of reading books? Pushing you to think beyond yourself.

Top 2: The Martian by Andy Weir

Or what I like to call “M12736853_10207621110559944_1385059490_oark Watney and the Potato Affair”. This book is a Booktube recommend. So many booktubers loved and gushed about this book and it’s truly good. I’m really glad that it’s one of the first books I finished at the beginning of the year. It is an inspiring story about a man’s journey for survival in a desolate planet  with only about his wits and science to keep him alive. If you haven’t read the book. WHY?????

Top 1: The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

This is another Booktube recommend. It has been praised and loved by so many readers around the world that I’m glad that I listened to their  passionate recommenations of the series. I can’t fully describe how much I loved this trilogy. It is just simply amazing.

So how about you? What are your favorite books that was recommended to you?

Happy Wednesday Everyone!

Leave a Reply

