Uncategorized

The 4 months Book Wrap Up!

So I have a confession to make: I am a slow reader. Haha. No, not really I just really take my time in reading the books that I like to read. If I’m not in a reading slump, I could finish a 700 pages book in like, 3 days. But the last book I read from the Wheel of Time Series which is “Winter’s Heart”, it’s 600+ pages long and took me three months to finish. Yep, taking my time is my JAM! :D. Well, we all have quirks and preference on how we read our beloved books and no one can tell you that you read too slow or too fast. It’s just how you are and be proud of it.

Which brings me to my current entry: my 4 months worth book wrap up! Yes, I’ve only read 7 books in the past 4 months and I am going to talk about them. Here we go. 🙂

  1. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
 I’ve already made a review of this book. This one is LOVE. I get why this one won a Hugo Award, it reawakens your desire to pick up a book and read, read, and read. I look forward to collect more titles from Neil Gaiman in the future.
2. Lumayo Ka Nga sa Akin by Bob Ong
A very short book written by Bob Ong, one of my favorite Filipino authors. It’s a satirical parody novel written in screenplay form divided into three stories, each one tackling the usual clichés of Philippine cinema and television. It was a bit preachy for my taste. I agree with some of his views somehow because it speaks the truth on the dismal state of our country’s cinema and television. But I kind of miss his conversational way of writing prominent in his early books. He was way more funny back then when he did his own thing, rather than venturing out to different genres. But I’d still buy his books because he is one of a kind writing keeps me interested
3. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
Funny story, the book was lost to me for 2 months, so I just downloaded the e-book because I just really had to finish it. Then, poof, it was returned to me after two months. I don’t know what fate is trying to say, but I really should take better care of my books next time. Anyway, I loved the ending of the book, but not much for the pace of the story. But, hey, at least the main character in this one isn’t crazy! 😀
4. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
How do I begin to count the ways that I love this book? The story is both sad and hopeful, depressing at times but the dialogues are truly provocative and witty at a measure. I felt like I should have read this when I was in college and reread it again when I am more older. I’ve always thought that Murakami is such an intimidating writer, that you’d have to be much older and wiser to see the wisdom in his words. But reading this book, he wrote it in such a relatable manner, that we somehow feel like we are the characters. We all underwent being sucked into dark places of our minds once in our lives, and this book is reflective of what just happens when we succumb into it.
5. The Urban Sketching Handbook: People and Motion: Tips and Techniques for Drawing on Location (Urban Sketching Handbooks) by Gabriel Campanario
I love art books, but sadly this the only one I finished reading. haha. Great book for beginning urban sketchers like me. I recommend this book since it run downs the basics of urban sketching and painting. It also has blank pages for you to sketch your own progress.
6. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
So this one is a young adult suspense novel about a seemingly perfect family and a group of friends called the “Liars”. Shit happens when the main character, Cadence is found nearly drowned during the summer of her Fifteenth year. This book gave me the “A Tale of Two Sisters” feels. As you, the reader, you’d always suspect that the main character is crazy but you continue to deny it because you think she is just a normal teenager full of raging hormones, nothing freaky is going on. Which I think makes the story all the more interesting.
7. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Again already reviewed the book here. You can check out the link later. 🙂
And so that is that. I still have a TBR pile I have to peruse. Some of those books were bought months ago and others just recently. I’ll be sharing my TBR pile to you soon. So I hope you watch out for that. 🙂
Leave a Reply

